© Shutterstock

Greece is a mountainous and peninsular country located in Southeast Europe. The country lies on the southernmost area of Balkan Peninsula between the crossroads of Africa, Asia, Middle East and Europe. The border countries of Greece include Turkey to the northeast, Bulgaria and the Republic of Macedonia to the north and Albania to the northeast while the Aegean Sea washes Eastern Greece, the Ionian Sea washes Western Greece and the Mediterranean Sea washes Southern Greece. 80% of the mainland is mountainous being one of the most mountainous countries of Europe. The coastline of the country is the longest coastline of Europe and one of the longest coastlines of the world reaching 13,676 km in length. Greece is the island empire with a total number of 6.000 islands and islets, but only 227 are inhabited.
Mainland Greece forms the southernmost part of the peninsula of the Balkans. The total land area of Greece covers 131,960 km2 consisting from the geographical regions of Macedonia and Thrace on the northern side of the country, the geographical regions of Central Greece, Epirus and Thessaly on the southern side of the country and the peninsula of Peloponnese on the southernmost side of the country separated from the rest of mainland from the Corinthian Gulf and the Isthmus of Corinth. The spine of the mainland of Greece is formed from the Range of Pindus, the southern extension of the Dinaric Alps, separating Epirus from Thessaly and Macedonia. The highest mountain peak of Greece is Mount Olympus on Northern Greece reaching 2,917m separating Thessaly from Macedonia.
Greece consists from six thousands islands and islets with 227 of them inhabited, a truly unique phenomenon for the continent of Europe. The archipelago of the country occupies 7.500 km2 with a highly diversified landscape. Crete is the largest island of the country covering an area of 8.336 km2 with a coastline of 8.336 km2Euboea is the second largest island of the country separated from mainland Greece by the Strait of Euripus covering an area of 4.167 km2 with a coastline of 678 km2. The islands of the Aegean Sea are classified into seven complexes including the Argosaronic, the Cyclades, the Ionian, the Northeast Aegean and the Sporades. Other islands include Elafonisos and Gavdos.