Visa and Passport

Greece is an official member of the European Union and has ratified the Schengen Agreement.  Citizens of the EU countries can travel to Greece by carrying either their passport or a form of identification and visas are not required for the citizens of the Member States of the Schengen Agreement. Greece follows the provisions of the Schengen Agreement, which eliminated controls on common hinterland air and sea borders lands, allowing the citizens of Member States to stay in Greece for a period up to three months within a chronological period of 6 months. However, airline companies and carries require a valid passport. Citizens of the majority of the countries, which are not members of the Schengen Agreement, require a visa to enter to the European Union and Greece, who can find information at the Hellenic Embassies of their countries. Citizens of the following non European Union countries do not require a visa in order to visit Greece and stay in the country for a period to three months within a chronological period of six months; Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Brune, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Israel, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, New Zealand, Vatican, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Saint Marino, Singapore, South Korea, USA, Uruguay, Venezuela.